Policygenius
New York, NY

Reviews Editor at Policygenius

| Greater NYC Area
Sorry, this job was removed at 12:02 p.m. (EST) on Friday, January 24, 2020
Find out who's hiring in NYC.
See all Content jobs in NYC
Apply now
By clicking continue you agree to Built In’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

About the role….

Are you the one your friends go to for product recommendations? Do you like digging into the nitty-gritty to find the best solution for everything? Do you have a soft spot for communicating with both numbers and words? We’re growing our Content team and looking for someone to take ownership of our product and company reviews and support our ambitious content growth.

The Reviews Editor will lead the research and creation of best-in-class financial reviews, ranging from insurance carriers to apps to banks and other institutions. You’ll translate jargon and boil down pros, cons, and features into quantifiable metrics to help people choose the right financial products and build a safety net for themselves and their family. This role will report to the Associate Director of SEO Content and work closely with our editors and product team.

In this role, you will…

  • Write, refresh and edit long-form review content across multiple personal finance verticals
  • Conduct extensive research on various personal finance products and institutions
  • Compare relevant factors to create comprehensive and easy-to-understand rating methodology for review content
  • Interview customers and potential users for feedback on and benchmarking of content
  • Collaborate with our Senior Content Strategy Manager and product teams to help create best-in-class tools and content components

We’d love to hear from you if…

  • You have 2+ years experience researching and writing review content
  • You have familiarity with SEO best practices as they pertain to content
  • You are comfortable collaborating with stakeholders from different departments such as Operations, SEO, and Marketing
  • You are knowledgeable about insurance and personal finance fundamentals — you’d be comfortable giving advice to your friends and family

You can expect...

  • Company-paid health, dental, vision, life & disability insurance
  • 401(k) plan, FSA & commuter benefits
  • Generous PTO 
  • Training, mentorship and coaching from leadership
  • The opportunity to grow alongside a company shaking up a big, old-fashioned industry
  • Fun, diverse, open-minded coworkers
  • Dog companionship!!!

About Policygenius

Policygenius is America's leading online insurance marketplace. Since 2014, our mission has been to help people get the financial protection they need (and feel good about it). We make it easy for our customers to understand their options, compare quotes, and buy insurance, all in one place. Our CEO and co-founder, Jennifer Fitzgerald, is one of only four women in the US fintech space to raise over $50 million in venture capital funding, and we’ve helped more than 30 million people shop for all types of insurance, placing over $35 billion in coverage to date.

At Policygenius, we’re proud of building an environment that encourages our teammates to bring their authentic selves to work. Despite rapid growth (we’ve doubled in size year over year!), we’ve continuously maintained our inclusive culture through humility, hard-work, and humor, and we're looking for more people with grit, collaborative attitudes, and creative problem-solving skills to join our team. Come see why we’ve been voted one of Inc. Magazine's "Best Workplaces" two years in a row!

Diversity at Policygenius

Policygenius believes differences should be celebrated and is committed to building a team as diverse as the customers we serve. We welcome different perspectives and opinions to foster innovation, authenticity, and excellence across all parts of our company, and are committed to providing employees with a work environment free of discrimination and harassment.

As an Equal Opportunity Employer, Policygenius highly encourages applicants from all walks of life. All employment decisions at Policygenius are based on business needs, job requirements and individual qualifications without regard to actual or perceived race, color, sex, pregnancy, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, age, national origin, political affiliation or belief, religion, disability, uniformed service, marital status or any other status protected by law. 

Come join the team!

See More
Apply now
By clicking continue you agree to Built In’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Where we are

In the heart of the Flatiron district! Conveniently located near several NYC subway stops, the NJ Path train, and a short walk to Penn Station.

Technology we use

  • Engineering
  • Product
  • Sales & Marketing
    • GolangLanguages
    • JavascriptLanguages
    • PythonLanguages
    • RubyLanguages
    • SqlLanguages
    • jQueryLibraries
    • ReactLibraries
    • ReduxLibraries
    • Twitter BootstrapLibraries
    • ExpressFrameworks
    • Node.jsFrameworks
    • Ruby on RailsFrameworks
    • PostgreSQLDatabases
    • BigQueryDatabases
    • Google AnalyticsAnalytics
    • OptimizelyAnalytics
    • SketchDesign
    • UXPinDesign
    • TableauDesign
    • MouseflowDesign
    • Respondent.ioDesign
    • Usertesting.comDesign
    • ZeplinDesign
    • PrincipleDesign
    • ConfluenceManagement
    • JIRAManagement
    • TrelloManagement
    • ClubhouseManagement
    • IterableEmail
    • LitmusEmail
Previous
Next

What are Policygenius Perks + Benefits

Culture
Partners with Nonprofits
Friends outside of work
Eat lunch together
Intracompany committees
Daily stand up
Open door policy
Team owned deliverables
Team based strategic planning
Group brainstorming sessions
Pair programming
Open office floor plan
Diversity
Dedicated Diversity/Inclusion Staff
Diversity manifesto
Health Insurance & Wellness Benefits
Flexible Spending Account (FSA)
Disability Insurance
Dental Benefits
Vision Benefits
Health Insurance Benefits
Life Insurance
Wellness Programs
Retirement & Stock Options Benefits
401(K)
Child Care & Parental Leave Benefits
Family Medical Leave
Vacation & Time Off Benefits
Generous PTO
Paid Holidays
Paid Sick Days
Perks & Discounts
Casual Dress
Commuter Benefits
Company Outings
Game Room
Stocked Kitchen
Happy Hours
Pet Friendly
Fitness Subsidies
Professional Development Benefits
Job Training & Conferences
Diversity Program
Lunch and learns
Acme Co. hosts lunch and learn meetings weekly.
Cross functional training encouraged
Promote from within
Customized development tracks
Paid industry certifications

An Insider's view of Policygenius

What’s the vibe like in the office?

Think: startup meets productive adult office. The fridge is stocked with La Croix and there's usually a dog or two running around, but there's no ping pong. Everyone works hard and takes the job seriously. Strict "no chuckleheads allowed" policy. People are cool and from a really wide range of backgrounds.

Adam

Senior Product Manager

What kinds of technical challenges do you and your team face?

All of the normal challenges of building a modern (fairly cutting edge actually, if I do say so myself), scalable tech stack, just with the added twist of integrating with a bunch of fairly archaic APIs. The insurance industry historically isn't exactly a bastion of modern technology, but we're doing our darnedest to change that.

Trevor

Senior Software Engineer

What makes someone successful on your team?

Teamwork and problem-solving go a long way on my team and at Policygenius overall. I would say that individual ideas are not only supported but more importantly, encouraged. I'm consistently challenged, but always learning; our environment promotes both individual and professional growth. I'm looking forward to moving to the next level!

Masuda

Customer Success Team Lead

What is your vision for the company?

Our vision for Policygenius is to be the go-to consumer platform for insurance and financial protection. What Expedia did for travel, we're doing for financial protection. We're already the top platform for under-50 consumers for life insurance and disability insurance, and we're excited to expand that to new categories in 2019!

Jen

CEO

What's something quirky about your company?

So many team members have really interesting stories about their time before Pg. We’ve got trivia champions, ex-magicians, chicken bag experts, and even someone who used to be Madonna’s assistant. It’s all story-telling gold.

Justin

Chief Design Officer

Policygenius Careers In NYC
28

All Jobs
All Jobs
Data + Analytics
Dev + Engineer
HR
Legal
Marketing
Operations
Product
Sales
Content
Tap to close

Senior Security Engineer

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
9 hours ago
+37
As the Senior Security Engineer you’d join our growing InfoSec team helping to build a robust security culture. You’d work very closely with our Site Reliability Engineering, Application Engineering and Tech Ops teams to ensure Policygenius is doing all we can to protect the company’s and our customer’s data.   You will have the mindset of a technology partner and enabler who is seen as a trusted adviser. You will be able to educate, advise on system design, implement/configure/monitor security tools, and help drive an appreciation for security.  If you like to better secure, introduce automation and reduce risks then this role’s for you.

Software Engineer - Full Stack/Frontend (Web)

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
9 hours ago
+37
As a Software Engineer you will be designing and implementing product features, pairing with other software engineers, and researching the next wave of technology to bring into the fold.

Director of Product - Estate Planning & Member Engagement

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
11 hours ago
+37
On the Policygenius Product team, we're focused on building out a world-class product organization; we hire the best and brightest, give people as much scope as they can handle, and glorify shipping and impact. As Director of Product, you’ll balance both problem-solving and process, the strategic and the tactical, and bring a deep understanding of the interplay between design, engineering, and business to develop products that delight consumers and deliver business impact. 

Engineering Manager - Fulfillment

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 day ago
+37
Hire and coach software developers to help them realize their potential. Take on the development and advancement of your team's technical vision. Work with embedded product, UX, and product marketing partners to design and deliver iterative solutions. Create a highly technical, supportive, and inclusive environment for the team you lead. Collaborate with leadership to create a technical strategy for your products and systems.

Editorial Director

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 days ago
+37
Manage, mentor and motivate editorial team members to produce high-quality content and meet core business goals Establish, implement and maintain consistent editorial standards, including voice, tone, perspective and copy guidelines Supervise all editorial content production and ensure the copy and visuals are meeting those standards Ideate, create and creatively distribute new content properties, series, features and campaigns for email, social and digital channels in concert with direct reports Work with senior leaders to set, track and achieve goals for audience growth and retention Support and collaborate on the overall content marketing strategy, ensuring alignment across key stakeholders, initiatives, partnerships and performance metrics.

Remote Sales Associate - Auto & Home

Policygenius
Remote
4 days ago
+37
Work collaboratively with your peers to continue to build out our rapidly expanding auto & home insurance team. Prepare consultative, value-based presentations for our clients based on our quoting team’s recommendations and provide a world-class customer experience. Coordinate with carriers to efficiently communicate our clients’ needs. Contribute toward team goals and frequently support onboarding of new teammates (we're growing!!). Master the workflows, team norms, policies, software, and tools necessary to meet quality standards and Key Performance Indicators (KPIs) day-to-day. Adapt and contribute to regularly evolving processes to improve individual/team efficiency.

Remote Sales Associate - Life Insurance

Policygenius
Remote
4 days ago
+37
Tired of cold calling and building a book of business before applying your insurance subject matter expertise? Our Remote Sales Associate - Life Insurance role is on the front lines of the Policygenius customer experience: managing all inbound leads for prospective life insurance customers, and ensuring they get the coverage they need (and feel good about the process) all while working remotely! Our sales team thrives on collaboration, creative competitions, and thoughtful communication with customers as we drive a positive, tech-enhanced experience in an industry typically known for being old-school and paper-based. 

Senior Site Reliability Engineer

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
5 days ago
+37
As a Senior Site Reliability Engineer, your mission will be to ensure the reliability and adaptability of Policygenius’ network of mission-critical systems. We’ll be depending on your insight and expertise to advise and evolve the design, architecture, and scaling of our infrastructure. You’ll play a critical role in empowering the engineering team to confidently ship software efficiently and reliably. At Policygenius, you will work alongside passionate engineers who continuously strive to improve our world, our teams and themselves.

Senior Data Engineer

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
5 days ago
+37
Take complicated algorithms, code review, optimize for production and integrate into product features or process flows.  Design data architecture that is simple, fault tolerant and requires little overhead.  Design data pipelines utilizing ETL tools, event driven software or cloud functions and other streaming software.  Partner with both data scientists and engineers to bring our amazing concepts to reality. This requires learning to speak the language of statisticians as well as software engineers.  Work directly with stakeholders to ingest new sources of data, but also work to manage our self service data model.  Develop internal data science specific tooling for solutions such as A/B testing, learning sharing and analysis repositories and machine learning components.  Ensure ultimate reliability in data pipelines and enforce data governance, security and protection of our customer’s information.  Mentor data engineering team members and even data scientists in architecture and coding techniques. 

Director of Business Development

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
5 days ago
+37
The Business & Corporate Development team is responsible for establishing and growing revenue driving partnerships at Policygenius. We are creative and relentless in figuring out ways to grow the business. The Director of Business & Corporate Development will be responsible for playing a key role in helping the team reach its revenue and growth goals via a combination of establishing new strategic partnerships and managing a base of existing partners. The Director of Business & Corporate Development will report to the SVP of Finance and Business & Corporate Development.

Senior Software Engineer - Full Stack/Backend (Web)

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
5 days ago
+37
As a Senior Software Engineer you will be designing and implementing product features, pairing with and mentoring other software engineers, and researching the next wave of technology to bring into the fold. At Policygenius, senior engineers are adaptable technical leaders who are at the core of each team.

Data Analyst I

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
5 days ago
+37
Partner with a business stakeholder or product team to help move their analytical strategy forward. Create visualizations intended to monitor business performance or uncover interesting trends to investigate. Lead the test and learn process we use for exploratory data analysis and A/B testing. This includes helping PM’s decide on testing strategy, generating baselines, approximating sample sizes and performing analysis of test results. Help our teams move beyond visualizations and utilize inferential and causal modeling to uncover deeper trends from a quantitative perspective, and design and test interventions. Structure and lead our strategic framework from an analytical perspective on your team. Partner with data engineering on new data pipelines and ingestion requests as well as advise on data model improvements. Wrangle and stitch together many disparate data sources and uncover deep insights to drive your team forward.

Acquisition Marketing Associate

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
Policygenius is looking for an energetic and talented Acquisition Marketing Associate to join the Growth Marketing team. Reporting to the Associate Director of Acquisition, this role will be responsible for extracting, analyzing, and reporting on third-party marketing data (Facebook, Google Ads, etc) and internal lead data with the goal of developing insights to drive better marketing spend performance and lead quality. Primary responsibilities will include creating and analyzing reports combining multiple data sources, extracting actionable insights, and reporting these insights to key stakeholders as well as contributing to acquisition media operations across digital and offline channels.

Senior Copywriter

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
Policygenius is hiring a Senior Copywriter to help build the next great financial protection brand, by creating consistent, engaging product narratives. An excellent strategic and creative thinker, the Senior Copywriter will identify compelling ways to communicate our value to our customers from first touch to last. The Senior Copywriter will report to the Creative Director, and work on the Marketing team.

Business Development Account Manager

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
The Business Development team is responsible for establishing and growing revenue-generating partnerships at Policygenius. We are creative and data-driven in figuring out ways to grow the business; currently employing referral relationships, affiliates, newsletters, content marketing, and more integrated digital solutions for our partners. We look for win-win opportunities that benefit both us and our partners. This role reports into the Associate Director of Business & Corporate Development.

Director of Product Marketing

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
About the role...As the Director of Product Marketing, you will be responsible for owning our consumer marketing strategy for our various product verticals (life insurance, home & auto insurance, and more), driven by deep understanding of our customer, analysis of the competition, and savvy ability to tell customer narratives.  You’ll help define how customers think about our brand and our products, and work with your peers among the Marketing and Product team to bring consumer narratives to life. Reporting to the VP of Marketing, this position has the unique opportunity to work cross-functionally on high-visibility projects, shape and lead the product marketing function, and see impactful ideas through to execution.

Associate General Counsel

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
The Associate General Counsel will report directly to the General Counsel.  The person will work hand-in-hand with our product team on launching new product offerings, assist with the review and negotiation of contracts, advise on privacy and cybersecurity issues, provide analysis and legal advice on a wide range of issues, and help manage our growing legal team.

Recruiting Operations Manager

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
As a Recruiting Operations Manager on the People team, you will play an integral role in scaling a high-performing recruiting team in the midst of a high-growth period for Policygenius, standardizing and automating key processes for efficiency and building training programs to better equip recruiters to deliver on our aggressive hiring goals. You will serve as a trusted partner to your recruiting counterparts and leadership, and you’ll collaborate across all teams and departments at Pg to optimize the effectiveness of our talent acquisition practices, driving consistency and quality across the board.

Head of Acquisition Marketing

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
In the first role of its kind, this person will lead a team that manages digital channels (paid social, SEM, display, etc.), offline channels (TV, direct mail, radio/podcast), experimentation across new channels, marketing analytics, and testing and optimization. This position reports directly to our VP of Marketing.

Director of Recruiting

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
1 week ago
+37
About the role… As Director of Recruiting at Policygenius, you'll serve as a business partner in all things hiring, aligned to our rapidly expanding sales & operations teams, but with reach across the company. Reporting to the Senior Director of Recruiting, you’ll lead a team of high-performing recruiters to deliver on our aggressive growth targets and grow our customer-facing teams, all while building the recruiting “machine” to ensure quality,

SEO Strategist

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 weeks ago
Policygenius is looking for an experienced SEO Strategist with a proven track record of growing organic traffic and improving keyword rankings to join the team. Reporting to the Head of SEO, this role will be responsible for driving our organic search traffic and revenue growth in insurance and personal finance product verticals through comprehensive SEO content planning and SEO campaign execution.

On-Page SEO Specialist

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 weeks ago
Policygenius is looking for a highly experienced On-page SEO Specialist to join the team. Reporting to the Head of SEO, this role will be responsible for driving our organic search traffic and revenue growth in key insurance product verticals, through comprehensive on-page optimization and re-optimization of our ever-growing content portfolio.

Senior Data Scientist

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 weeks ago
Take complicated problems and translate them into data problems that can be solved using algorithms. Mine and connect many large and disparate data sources using our databases and SQL and other unstructured data repositories. Develop machine learning based applications using supervised and unsupervised models using R or Python that optimize and personalize customer experiences or reduce manual effort on our internal teams through automated decision making. Utilize deep learning techniques to solve problems related to natural language processing, computer vision and prediction. Partner with data engineering to take your model from science experiment to deployed infrastructure. Develop experiments to understand model impact.

Analytics Associate

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 weeks ago
Partner with cross-functional teams to address business questions and diagnose problems; apply both creative and rigorous analyses; and drive insights into actionable business decisions. Work across the entire organization to help define, set, and track KPIs and OKRs for success. Work with the operations team to drive efficiencies and continuous improvement. Work with the marketing team to support a world class growth engine. Work with the engineering team to develop algorithms that continue to drive fintech innovation in the insurance industry. Work with finance to accurately track and analyze the financial health of the company. Participate in company strategy development and operational capacity allocations.

Manager of Strategy & Business Operations

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 weeks ago
The Strategy & Business Operations function at Policygenius works on the highest impact business challenges we face. As the Manager, Strategy & Business Operations, you’ll work with a high performing, cross-functional team to develop strategic initiatives, deliver business impact, and delight our clients & strategic partners. We’re looking for the right mix of skillful problem solver, thoughtful operator and dedicated project manager. Reporting into the Director of Strategy & Operations, you will balance problem-solving & process, think both strategically & tactically, and bring a deep understanding of the interplay between operations, marketing, product & business intelligence. 

Senior Software Engineer - Full Stack/Front End

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 weeks ago
As a Senior Software Engineer you will be designing and implementing product features, pairing with and mentoring other software engineers, and researching the next wave of technology to bring into the fold. At Policygenius, senior engineers are adaptable technical leaders who are at the core of each team.

Director of Strategy & Business Operations

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
2 weeks ago
The Strategy & Business Operations function at Policygenius works on the highest impact business challenges we face. As the Director of Strategy & Business Operations, you’ll work with a high performing, cross-functional team to develop strategic initiatives, deliver business impact, and delight our clients & strategic partners. We’re looking for the right mix of skillful problem solver, thoughtful operator and dedicated team leader. Reporting into the Head of Strategy & Operations, you will balance problem-solving & process, think both strategically & tactically, and bring a deep understanding of the interplay between operations, marketing, product & business intelligence.

Acquisition Marketing Manager

Policygenius
Greater NYC Area
3 weeks ago
Primary responsibilities of the Acquisition Marketing Manager will include developing and executing acquisition plans, managing campaigns, engaging in various types of testing, and analyzing performance. This candidate should be proficient with constructing AB tests and with using Tableau & excel in order to identify insights to drive optimization and improve performance.